Science bridges cultures - Voices from science


image: © DPG 2017
"Science is driven by free discourse, is characterized by tolerance and builds cultural and human bridges. The March for Science is an excellent opportunity to raise awareness of the relevance of science in our society at European and international level. Prof. Dr. Ursel Fantz,
Professor at the University of Augsburg, provisional head of the IPP Division ITER Technology and Diagnostics and DPG Board Member for Foreign Relations.

image: © University of Leipzig / Christian Hüller
"Chemistry is international. Innovations and new technologies are discovered and developed all over the world, and only through international cooperation will we be able to solve problems of our time that affect us all together with the best from all over the world. Openness to the world and scientific freedom are indispensable prerequisites for this."
Prof. Dr. Evamarie Hey-Hawkins,
Faculty of Chemistry and Mineralogy, University of Leipzig, Member of the Board of GDCh.

image: © GDCh / Photo: Tobias Schwerdt, Heidelberg
"Science connects cultures and science is also a part of culture. Culture as what human beings create; through curiosity, thirst for knowledge, the desire to experiment and the search for knowledge. The ethics of science name the conditions of this search: honesty, integrity, truthfulness; in any case. Also sense of responsibility and foresight, if possible in time and space. This attitude cannot stop at national or cultural borders. On the contrary, it wants to discover the new, it wants to understand the unknown and it wants to create knowledge that leads to the good for everyone. This is the universal that allows us scientists at universities to be citizens of the world."
Prof. Dr. Thisbe K. Lindhorst,
Otto Diels Institute for Organic Chemistry, University of Kiel, Vice President of the GDCh

image: © VBIO / Elbing
"There is undoubtedly competition in science - and that is a good thing. Competition is a driver of innovation and important for confirming or falsifying results. But the best and most innovative ideas come when colleagues from different countries and continents sit around the same table and let their thoughts run wild. It's not uncommon for this to end with a joint statement - let's try it out together!"
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Nellen,
Professor of Genetics, is currently DAAD Johann Gottfried Herder Fellow at Universitas Brawijaya, Malang, Indonesia

image: © University of Göttingen
"Like all sciences, physics knows no political, cultural or religious boundaries. Looking at connections from different perspectives leads to new insights. Different perspectives must be heard and accepted - as long as they are based on scientific and verifiable facts. Facts cannot and must not be discussed away through opinions. In order to be able to imagine unexpected results, freedom of opinion is absolutely necessary. Tolerance and cosmopolitan attitudes are also part of the essence of science, and freedom of travel is, of course, part of this."
Prof. Dr. Arnulf Quadt,
teaches physics at the Georg-August-Universität Göttingen and was DPG board member for public relations.

image: © HG Lard
"International encounters, exchange and cooperation are among the most valuable and enriching elements of science, and the best universities and research institutions are without exception distinguished by a particularly high degree of internationality. International contacts (and friendships) based on scientific respect and trust can contribute to peace and political understanding. In the 1950s, German and Israeli researchers paved the way for the rapprochement of the two peoples after the Holocaust."
Prof. Dr. Hans-Günther Schmalz,
Department of Chemistry, University of Cologne, Member of the Board of GDCh
"The generation of knowledge requires more and more international cooperation: "innovation & cooperation" are not buzzwords, but the central recipe for success for modern research. Despite the possibilities offered by digital communication, it is impossible to replace personal conversation (often in a relaxed atmosphere). Any restriction on the free exchange of people and ideas therefore means a restriction or even prevention of science."
Prof. Dr. Gerhard Haszprunar,
teaches Systematic Zoology at the LMU Munich and is Director General of the Staatliche Naturwissenschaftlichen Sammlungen Bayerns.
"In microbiology, national borders don't matter much. No microbe stops at an artificial border - microbes can cross the Atlantic themselves with Sahara dust. Just as international is the science, it creates exchange and further education and makes it possible to learn from each other. The national perspective is much too narrow - also with regard to the review of scientific work and projects, internationality contributes considerably to quality assurance."
Prof. Dr. Felicitas Pfeifer,
researches archaea at the TU Darmstadt and is spokeswoman of the professional societies in VBIO

Back to home page

Science bridges cultures – Stimmen aus der Wissenschaft


Bild: © DPG 2017
"Wissenschaft wird vorangetrieben durch freie Diskurse, zeichnet sich aus durch Toleranz und baut kulturell und menschlich Brücken. Der March for Science ist eine ausgezeichnete Gelegenheit die Relevanz der Wissenschaft in unserer Gesellschaft auf europäischer und internationaler Ebene ins Bewusstsein zu rücken."
Prof. Dr. Ursel Fantz,
Professorin an der Universität Augsburg, kommissarische Leiterin des IPP-Bereiches ITER-Technologie und -Diagnostik und DPG-Vorstandsmitglied für Auswärtige Beziehungen.

Bild: © Universität Leipzig / Christian Hüller
"Chemie ist international. Innovationen und neue Technologien werden überall auf der Welt entdeckt und entwickelt, und nur durch internationale Kooperationen wird es uns gelingen, mit den Besten aus aller Welt Probleme unserer Zeit, die uns alle betreffen, gemeinsam zu lösen. Weltoffenheit und wissenschaftliche Freiräume sind unabdingbare Voraussetzungen hierfür."
Prof. Dr. Evamarie Hey-Hawkins,
Fakultät für Chemie und Mineralogie, Universität Leipzig, Vorstandsmitglied der GDCh.

Bild: © GDCh / Foto: Tobias Schwerdt, Heidelberg
"Wissenschaft verbindet Kulturen und Wissenschaft ist auch ein Teil der Kultur. Kultur als das, was Menschen schaffend hervorbringen; durch Neugierde, Wissensdurst, Experimentierlust und die Suche nach Erkenntnis. Die Wissenschaftsethik nennt die Bedingungen dieser Suche: Redlichkeit, Ehrlichkeit, Wahrhaftigkeit; das auf jeden Fall. Auch Verantwortungsbewusstsein und Weitsicht, möglichst in Zeit und Raum. Diese Haltung kann nicht an Staaten- oder Kulturgrenzen haltmachen. Im Gegenteil, sie will ja das Neue entdecken, sie will das Unbekannte verstehen und sie will Wissen schöpfen, das für alle zum Guten führt. Das ist das Universale, das gerade uns Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler an den Universitäten Weltbürger sein lässt."
Prof. Dr. Thisbe K. Lindhorst,
Otto-Diels-Institut für Organische Chemie, Universität Kiel, Vizepräsidentin der GDCh

Bild: © VBIO / Elbing
"In der Wissenschaft gibt es zweifellos Konkurrenz – und das ist gut so. Konkurrenz ist ein Innovationsmotor und wichtig für die Bestätigung oder Falsifizierung von Ergebnissen. Die besten und innovativsten Ideen entstehen jedoch, wenn Kollegen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern und Kontinenten an einem Tisch sitzen und ihren Gedanken freien Lauf lassen. Gar nicht so selten endet das mit der gemeinsamen Feststellung das probieren wir jetzt mal zusammen aus!"
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Nellen,
Professor für Genetik, ist zurzeit DAAD Johann Gottfried Herder Fellow an der Universitas Brawijaya, Malang, Indonesien

Bild: © Universität Göttingen
„Wie alle Wissenschaften kennt die Physik weder politische, kulturelle noch religiöse Grenzen. Zusammenhänge aus verschiedenen Perspektiven zu betrachten, führt zu neuen Erkenntnissen. Verschiedene Blickwinkel müssen gehört und akzeptiert werden – solange sie auf wissenschaftliche und nachprüfbare Fakten beruhen. Fakten können und dürfen nicht durch Meinungen wegdiskutiert werden. Um sich unerwartete Ergebnisse vorstellen zu können, bedarf es unbedingt der Meinungsfreiheit. Ferner gehören Toleranz und weltbürgerliche Einstellung zum Wesen der Wissenschaften, dazu gehört selbstverständlich die Reisefreiheit.“
Prof. Dr. Arnulf Quadt,
lehrt Physik an der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen und ist DPG-Vorstandsmitglied für Öffentlichkeitsarbeit.

Bild: © HG Schmalz
"Internationale Begegnung, Austausch und Kooperation gehören zu den wertvollsten und bereichernsten Elementen des Wissenschaftsbetriebes und die besten Universitäten und Forschungsinstitutionen zeichnen sich ausnahmslos auch durch ein besonders hohes Maß an Internationalität aus. Die auf wissenschaftlichem Respekt und Vertrauen gegründeten internationalen Kontakte (und Freundschaften) können zu Frieden und politischer Verständigung beitragen. So waren in den 1950er Jahren deutsche und israelische Forscher entscheidende Wegbereiter für die Wiederannäherung der beiden Völker nach dem Holocaust."
Prof. Dr. Hans-Günther Schmalz,
Department für Chemie, Universität Köln, Vorstandsmitglied der GDCh
"Die Generierung von Wissen bedarf immer mehr der internationalen Zusammenarbeit: "innovation & cooperation" sind keine Schlagworte, sondern das zentrale Erfolgsrezept für moderne Forschung. Trotz der Möglichkeiten der digitalen Kommunikation ist dabei das persönliche Gespräch (oft auch in entspannter Atmosphäre) nicht zu ersetzen. Jede Einschränkung des freien Austausches von Personen- und Ideen bedeutet daher eine Be- oder gar Verhinderung der Wissenschaft."
Prof. Dr. Gerhard Haszprunar,
lehrt Systematische Zoologie an der LMU München und ist Generaldirektor der Staatlichen Naturwissenschaftlichen Sammlungen Bayerns.
"Landesgrenzen sind in der Mikrobiologie ziemlich egal. Keine Mikrobe macht vor einer künstlichen Grenze halt - Mikroben können mit Sahara-Staub selbst den Atlantik überqueren. Genauso international ist auch die Wissenschaft, sie schafft Austausch und Weiterbildung und ermöglicht es, gegenseitig voneinander zu lernen. Der nationale Blickwinkel ist viel zu beengt - auch in Hinblick auf die Begutachtung wissenschaftlicher Arbeiten und Projekte trägt Internationalität erheblich zur Qualitätssicherung bei."
Prof. Dr. Felicitas Pfeifer,
forscht an der TU Darmstadt an Archaeen und ist Sprecherin der Fachgesellschaften im VBIO

Zurück zur Startseite